AAKP Announces 2012 Medal of Excellence Winners


TAMPA—The American Association of Kidney Patients (AAKP) has announced Theodore Steinman, MD, and Charles McAllister, MD, are the recipients of the 2012 Medal of Excellence Award.

The AAKP Medal of Excellence Award recognizes a renal physician(s) for their extraordinary skills and devotion in the field of nephrology.

For nearly 50 years, Steinman has dedicated himself to the field of nephrology and patient care. He currently serves as Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School and Director, Dialysis Unit, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston. He is past-president, Renal Physicians Association; past chairman, Scientific Advisory Committee for the Polycystic Kidney Disease Foundation; served on numerous committees with the National Kidney Foundation, including its Medical Advisory Board and the Kidney Disease Outcome Quality Initiative (K/DOQI). All the while, he continues to investigate ways to apply science to the care of those with renal disease. He understands that science alone does not change the world; it is the appropriate application of that knowledge.

Charles McAllister began his service to the renal community after graduating from State University of Buffalo, School of Medicine and completing his residency at SUNY at Stony Brook. McAllister is credited with starting the first dialysis program in southern Florida after completing his nephrology Fellowship at Vanderbilt University in Nashville. He’s worked closely with the U.S. Naval Hospital in Orlando, Florida to develop educational programs for veterans with kidney disease that have been used extensively throughout the VA system. He’s also served as the Chief Medical Officer of DaVita Inc. Over the course of his long career, McAllister has served on the boards of several Associations including the American Medical Association, American Society of Nephrology, Renal Physicians Association, and the End-Stage Renal Disease Network 7. Dr. McAllister has always kept patients needs first – developing critical programs to improve the lives of patients including educational materials for patients and staff, quality improvement programs, formulary organizations, and innovative clinical research.

 “It was a privilege to take part in the AAKP Medal of Excellence selection committee," said 2009 AAKP Medal of Excellence Award recipient Thomas F. Parker, MD. “I got the sense that both of these men remain dissatisfied with the current clinical, social, and emotional outcomes of patients with renal disease. They are committed to changing this through teaching, activism and daily involvement."

“These men have accepted the challenge and responsibility to do everything possible to provide great care for the nation’s kidney patients. It is an honor to recognize them for their many contributions," said AAKP Executive Director Karen Ryals.

comments powered by Disqus